Media Relations

Our team conveys news and information about UBC to the public through the news media.

We use media relations, issues management and strategic communications to promote faculty research and institutional priorities and help position UBC as a global leader.


How do we support UBC?

We connect media to faculty experts at the university through our website and the UBC Experts Guide.  We cultivate relationships with journalists and share with them stories that highlight UBC’s strengths. When news has the potential to harm UBC’s reputation, we help the university prepare its public response.

In addition, we provide strategic communications advice and issues management to academic and administrative leaders.

While our team is based at UBC Vancouver, we work closely with our colleagues in the University Relations team at UBC Okanagan to enhance the reputation of the institution, its scholars and its leadership across Canada and beyond.

Arial shot of UBC Vancouver campus

Media Relations team members

Team members specialize in assigned academic and operational areas of the university.

Kurt Heinrich
Senior Director
kurt.heinrich@ubc.ca

Matthew Ramsey
Director of University Affairs
matthew.ramsey@ubc.ca

  • COVID-19
  • University counsel
  • VP Academic
  • VP HR
  • VP Students

Thandi Fletcher
Senior Media Strategist
thandi.fletcher@ubc.ca

  • Board of Governors
  • Development and Alumni Engagement
  • Provost
  • VP External (Government Relations, Community Engagement, Ceremonies and Events, and Campus and Community Planning)
  • VP Health
  • VPRI

Regina Ng
Work Learn Media Relations Assistant

Clare Hamilton-Eddy
Director, Media Relations
clare.hamilton-eddy@ubc.ca

  • Indigenous
  • Equity & Inclusion
  • IT

Erik Rolfsen
Senior Media Relations Specialist
erik.rolfsen@ubc.ca

  • Arts (economics, political science, psychology, geography)
  • Dentistry
  • Library
  • Medicine
  • School of Population and Public Health

Lou Corpuz-Bosshart
Media Relations Specialist
lou.bosshart@ubc.ca

  • Applied Science (engineering, nursing, community and regional planning, architecture and landscape architecture)
  • Forestry
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Sustainability

Sachintha Wickramasinghe
Media Relations Specialist, on leave

Alex Walls
Media Relations Specialist
alex.walls@ubc.ca

  • Peter A. Allard School of Law
  • Science
  • Stewart Blusson Quantum Matter Institute
  • UBC Botanical Garden
  • Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Video and multimedia

Collins Maina
Assistant Media Relations Specialist
collins.maina@ubc.ca

  • Arts (economics, political science, psychology, geography)
  • Business (UBC Sauder School of Business)
  • Education
  • Land and Food Systems
  • Kinesiology
  • UBC Connects

Pearlie Davison
Administrative Coordinator
pearlie.davison@ubc.ca

Lui Xia Lee
Marketing and Communications Assistant
luixiale@mail.ubc.ca


Other teams