Media Relations

Our team conveys news and information about UBC to the public through the news media.

We use media relations, issues management and strategic communications to promote faculty research and institutional priorities and help position UBC as a global leader.


How do we support UBC?

We connect media to faculty experts at the university through our website and the UBC Experts Guide.  We cultivate relationships with journalists and share with them stories that highlight UBC’s strengths. When news has the potential to harm UBC’s reputation, we help the university prepare its public response.

In addition, we provide strategic communications advice and issues management to academic and administrative leaders.

While our team is based at UBC Vancouver, we work closely with our colleagues in the University Relations team at UBC Okanagan to enhance the reputation of the institution, its scholars and its leadership across Canada and beyond.

Arial shot of UBC Vancouver campus

Media Relations team members

Kurt Heinrich
Senior Director
kurt.heinrich@ubc.ca

Matthew Ramsey
Director of University Affairs
matthew.ramsey@ubc.ca

Thandi Fletcher
Senior Media Strategist
thandi.fletcher@ubc.ca

Peter Meiszner
Senior Digital Strategist
peter.meiszner@ubc.ca

Clare Hamilton-Eddy
Director, Media Relations
clare.hamilton-eddy@ubc.ca

Erik Rolfsen
Senior Media Relations Specialist
erik.rolfsen@ubc.ca

Lou Corpuz-Bosshart
Media Relations Specialist
lou.bosshart@ubc.ca

Sachintha Wickramasinghe
Media Relations Specialist, on leave

Alex Walls
Media Relations Specialist
alex.walls@ubc.ca

Collins Maina
Assistant Media Relations Specialist
collins.maina@ubc.ca

Pearlie Davison
Administrative Coordinator
pearlie.davison@ubc.ca

Lui Xia Lee
Marketing and Communications Assistant
luixiale@mail.ubc.ca

Temidayo Olayide Ayodele-Oja
Work Learn Media Relations Assistant
temidayo.ayodele-oja@ubc.ca


Other teams