Media Relations

Our team conveys news and information about UBC to the public through the news media.

We use media relations, issues management and strategic communications to promote faculty research and institutional priorities and help position UBC as a global leader.


How do we support UBC?

We connect media to faculty experts at the university through our website and the UBC Experts Guide.  We cultivate relationships with journalists and share with them stories that highlight UBC’s strengths. When news has the potential to harm UBC’s reputation, we help the university prepare its public response.

In addition, we provide strategic communications advice and issues management to academic and administrative leaders.

While our team is based at UBC Vancouver, we work closely with our colleagues in the University Relations team at UBC Okanagan to enhance the reputation of the institution, its scholars and its leadership across Canada and beyond.

For a look at the positive impacts driven by media coverage of UBC stories, please click here.

If you would like more information about media relations at UBC, or are interested in working with us, please reach out to the team members listed below.

Arial shot of UBC Vancouver campus

Media Relations team members

Team members specialize in assigned academic and operational areas of the university.

Kurt Heinrich
Senior Director
kurt.heinrich@ubc.ca
On leave

Matthew Ramsey
Director of University Affairs
matthew.ramsey@ubc.ca

  • COVID-19
  • IT
  • IRP
  • University Counsel
  • VP HR
  • VP Students

Thandi Fletcher
Senior Media Strategist
thandi.fletcher@ubc.ca

  • Board of Governors
  • Development and Alumni Engagement
  • Provost
  • UBC Connects
  • VP External (Government Relations, Community Engagement, Ceremonies and Events, and Campus and Community Planning)
  • VP Health
  • VPRI

Lui Xia Lee
Communications Coordinator
luixia.lee@ubc.ca

Clare Hamilton-Eddy
Director, Media Relations
clare.hamilton-eddy@ubc.ca

Erik Rolfsen
Senior Media Relations Specialist
erik.rolfsen@ubc.ca

  • Arts
  • Dentistry
  • Library
  • Medicine
  • School of Population and Public Health

Lou Corpuz-Bosshart
Media Relations Specialist
lou.bosshart@ubc.ca

  • Applied Science (engineering, nursing, community and regional planning, architecture and landscape architecture)
  • Forestry
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Sustainability

Sachintha Wickramasinghe
sachi.wickramasinghe@ubc.ca

  • Arts
  • Sauder School of Business
  • Education
  • Equity & Inclusion
  • Indigenous
  • Kinesiology
  • Land and Food Systems
  • Library

Alex Walls
Media Relations Specialist
alex.walls@ubc.ca

  • Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  • Peter A. Allard School of Law
  • Science
  • Stewart Blusson Quantum Matter Institute
  • UBC Botanical Garden

Peter Meiszner
Senior Digital Strategist
On leave

Pearlie Davison
Administrative Coordinator
pearlie.davison@ubc.ca

Ayomide Gbadamosi
Communications Assistant
ayomide.gbadamosi@ubc.ca


Other teams